Constant Practice

If you’re like me, most of your day is spent listening to and talking in English. While you might watch some shows and read some books on the side, most of the day is still spent in your first language. There isn’t anything you can really do about this most of the people you talk to, are going to communicate with you in English. However, I’ve found one way of always being able to practice you Spanish, even if it’s just in your head. What I like to do sometimes, especially if I’m listening to a particularly boring lecture or conversation, is to translate what a teacher or friend is saying into Spanish. This makes me really concentrate and find out what words I do know, and make a mental note of some words that I don’t. Once I have the time, I jot down some of the words that I didn’t know and look them up later. I tend to remember these words easier, as I have more of a connection to them it’s less of a “memorization” task, and more of an applicable to real life practice. You’ll be surprised about how just doing something like this once or twice a day will really sharpen your skills!
Leave a Reply

